- The 70% Threshold: What McAfee Institute Publishes
- What the Institute Does Not Publish
- Exam Format and Testing Conditions
- Where Your Points Come From: The Nine Learning Objectives
- Eligibility, Fees, and Attempt Mechanics
- A Score-Focused Study Sequence
- After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The published CDCI final-exam passing threshold is at least 70%, delivered in one three-hour, remotely proctored sitting.
- The exact question count, scored/unscored split, and domain weights are not publicly verified, so prepare across all nine learning objectives.
- Exam-only registration costs USD 450 and includes one attempt on a one-year exam license; a retake costs another USD 450.
- The optional 50-hour, 19-module course is not required for the exam-only route, but it covers the same competency areas.
The 70% Threshold: What McAfee Institute Publishes
If you are searching for the Certified Digital Currency Investigator (CDCI) passing score, the answer McAfee Institute publishes is a final-exam threshold of at least 70%. That is the single firm number on the scoring side, and it is worth being precise about what it does and does not tell you.
A 70% threshold means you need to demonstrate competence across the majority of material, not perfection. It does not tell you how many questions that is, because the exact CDCI question count is not publicly verified. McAfee Institute's institute-wide page references approximately 200 questions for its exams generally, but that figure is an institute-wide approximation and should not be treated as the exact CDCI count. Anyone quoting you a precise number of questions you must answer correctly is guessing.
For a broader look at how demanding the assessment is in practice, see our CDCI difficulty guide. For what is and is not known about candidate outcomes, read the CDCI pass rate analysis, which explains why no candidate pass rate can be cited responsibly: the institute does not disclose one.
What the Institute Does Not Publish
Part of understanding the passing score is knowing the gaps. Based on the two official CDCI pages reviewed, the following details are not publicly disclosed or verified:
- Exact question count: not verified for CDCI specifically.
- Scored versus unscored items: the split is undisclosed.
- Domain weights: there is no official weighted blueprint. The nine public learning objectives serve as unweighted preparation categories.
- Calculator and adaptive-testing rules: undisclosed.
- Candidate pass rate: not publicly disclosed.
- Exam version or revision date: no dated or numbered exam version has been verified.
- Scoring method: whether results are reported as a raw percentage, a scaled score, or simply pass/fail is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Because no highest-weighted domain can be named, a strategy built on "focus only on the heavy domain" has no factual basis here. Balanced coverage is the rational response to missing weights.
Exam Format and Testing Conditions
The CDCI board examination assesses competencies, standards, and applied knowledge covered throughout the program. The general published format includes multiple-choice, true/false, and scenario-based questions. Scenario-based items matter for scoring because they reward applied judgment rather than recall: you may be asked to interpret a transaction pattern, choose an appropriate evidence-handling step, or recognize a laundering typology.
| Exam Feature | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Issuing body | McAfee Institute |
| Passing threshold | At least 70% |
| Time limit | 3 hours |
| Delivery | Online, remotely proctored (ProctorU named in the FAQ alongside AI-proctoring wording; confirm the actual workflow) |
| Question types | Multiple-choice, true/false, scenario-based |
| Question count | Not publicly verified for CDCI |
| Open or closed book | Closed book, one sitting |
| Attempts | One attempt per exam license; license usable for one year |
| Exam-only fee | USD 450 |
Proctoring requirements that can sink an attempt
A technical or compliance problem on exam day can cost you the attempt regardless of your knowledge. The published requirements include a valid ID, a webcam, and a microphone, plus restrictions on extra monitors, VPNs, proxies, and virtual machines. Because the proctoring wording mentions both ProctorU and AI proctoring, confirm the exact workflow when you schedule, and run any system checks well before your session. Disable VPN software and close virtualization tools in advance. Our exam dates and scheduling guide covers how to approach booking within your one-year license window.
Key Takeaway
With one attempt per license, a preventable environment problem is as costly as a knowledge gap. Complete every system check, remove restricted software, and clear your testing space before exam day.
Where Your Points Come From: The Nine Learning Objectives
McAfee Institute publishes nine learning objectives for the CDCI program. These are unweighted preparation categories, not an official weighted exam blueprint, and the advertised 19 modules are not nineteen verified exam domains. Still, they define the knowledge scope you should be ready to be tested on. For a deeper walkthrough, see the complete guide to all nine CDCI content areas.
Domain 1: Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Fundamentals
The foundation for everything else. You need to understand how blockchain networks work, how transactions are created and confirmed, and how major cryptocurrencies and digital assets function in real-world investigations.
- Transaction creation and confirmation mechanics
- How different assets behave on their networks
- Why ledger transparency helps (and where it stops helping) investigators
Domain 2: Cryptocurrency Transaction Tracing
Practical expertise in following funds across wallets, exchanges, and decentralized networks to map the money trail and identify points of attribution.
- Following funds across wallets and exchanges
- Recognizing where attribution becomes possible
- Documenting the trail clearly
Domain 3: Obfuscation & Evasion Tactics
How criminals try to hide activity through mixers, tumblers, chain hopping, bridges, and layering, and how investigators can still recover the narrative behind the transactions.
- Mixers and tumblers
- Chain hopping and bridges
- Layering techniques and how to reconstruct the story
Domain 4: Wallets, Keys, and Digital Evidence Recovery
Custodial versus non-custodial wallets, hardware and software wallets, seed phrases, and encryption concepts, plus the forensic approach to identifying, preserving, and analyzing wallet-related evidence.
- Custodial vs. non-custodial distinctions
- Hardware and software wallet differences
- Seed phrases, keys, and evidence preservation
Domain 5: Smart Contracts, Tokens, and DeFi Investigations
How tokens and smart contracts operate, how DeFi platforms are used legitimately and abused illegally, and how to identify fraud patterns, rug pulls, and exploit-driven transactions.
- Token and smart contract behavior
- Legitimate vs. abusive DeFi use
- Rug pulls and exploit-driven transactions
Domain 6: Dark Web & Illicit Cryptocurrency Ecosystems
How crypto is used in dark web marketplaces and anonymized environments, and investigative techniques that connect transactions to criminal activity and operational infrastructure.
- Marketplace and anonymized-environment payment flows
- Linking transactions to criminal activity
- Connecting to operational infrastructure
Domain 7: AML Indicators & Financial Crime Patterns
Recognizing crypto-specific money laundering typologies, red flags, and behavioral patterns tied to fraud, theft, extortion, and illicit finance.
- Crypto-specific laundering typologies
- Red flags and behavioral patterns
- Fraud, theft, and extortion indicators
Domain 8: Seizure, Securing Assets, and Case-Ready Reporting
Protecting and securing digital assets when lawful authority exists, maintaining chain of custody, and producing clear, prosecutable documentation that holds up under scrutiny.
- Securing assets under lawful authority
- Chain of custody
- Documentation that withstands scrutiny
Domain 9: Applying Anti-Money Laundering (AML) Techniques to Digital Currencies
AML strategies as they apply to cryptocurrency and digital currency, including compliance measures, red flags for money laundering schemes, and applying AML protocols in cryptocurrency investigations.
- Compliance measures
- Red flags for laundering schemes
- Applying AML protocols in investigations
Overlap you can exploit
Domains 7 and 9 both address AML, so concepts you master once pay off twice. Likewise, Domains 3 and 2 are two sides of the same coin: tracing is easier to understand once you know the obfuscation methods it must defeat. Domains 4 and 8 together form the evidence-handling spine, and the performance objectives (describing ecosystems and transaction structures, analyzing illicit activity including laundering typologies, and producing investigative documentation) suggest that applied, documentation-minded reasoning is rewarded. The CDCI study guide expands on how to turn these categories into a preparation plan.
Eligibility, Fees, and Attempt Mechanics
Passing score is only useful if you can sit the exam, so it is worth being clear on the entry conditions. Professional eligibility is based on a combination of education and experience, with conduct screening:
- Bachelor's degree plus 4 years of relevant experience
- Associate degree plus 6 years of relevant experience
- High-school diploma or equivalent plus 7 years of relevant experience
Relevant experience involves investigations, intelligence, law enforcement, criminal justice, military, or comparable responsibilities. No reference count has been verified. The full picture is in our CDCI requirements guide.
| Item | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Exam-only registration | USD 450 |
| Another attempt | USD 450 |
| Training-and-exam package | USD 2,997 |
| Self-pay scholarship rendering | USD 1,199, conditional and not the universal exam fee |
| Training requirement | Not mandatory for the exam-only route |
| Optional course | 50 hours, 19 modules |
| Member/non-member pricing | No published split |
Exam-only versus the training package
The exam-only route at USD 450 suits candidates who already work in investigations or digital-asset analysis and can self-direct their review. The USD 2,997 package bundles the 50-hour, 19-module course with the exam. The curriculum progresses from cryptocurrency, blockchain, encryption, anonymization networks, wallets, and transactions into investigative methodologies, wallet and address analysis, financial trails, criminal indicators, asset seizure, case-file preparation, money laundering, legal considerations, and digital-currency investigation platforms. Note that training hours and CPE credits are not exam time or topic weights. The course is optional preparation, not an exam prerequisite. The USD 1,199 self-pay scholarship rendering is conditional, so do not assume it applies to you without confirming eligibility.
A Score-Focused Study Sequence
Because there is no weighted blueprint, sequence your preparation by dependency rather than by guessed weight. The logic below is editorial, not an official allocation.
Foundations first
- Domain 1: blockchain mechanics and how major assets function
- Domain 4: wallet types, keys, seed phrases, and evidence preservation
Tracing against evasion
- Domain 2: following funds across wallets, exchanges, and decentralized networks
- Domain 3: mixers, tumblers, chain hopping, bridges, layering
Ecosystems and fraud patterns
- Domain 5: smart contracts, tokens, DeFi abuse, rug pulls
- Domain 6: dark web and illicit crypto ecosystems
Compliance, evidence, and timed review
- Domains 7 and 9: AML typologies, red flags, and protocols
- Domain 8: chain of custody and case-ready reporting
- Full timed practice sessions at the three-hour limit
The reasoning: wallet and evidence concepts underpin both tracing and reporting, so learning them early makes later domains easier. Placing AML and reporting last lets you tie everything together into scenario-style thinking, which is how applied questions are likely to test you. Use the CDCI cheat sheet for a final-week review of must-know facts, and test yourself regularly with the practice questions on the CDCI Exam Prep practice test site.
Key Takeaway
Aim to score comfortably above 70% on practice sets in every domain, not just on average. With unknown weights, a single neglected area could cost more points than you expect.
After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
Earning the credential is not the end of the cost or effort. Certification renews every 2 years for USD 125 plus proof of continuing professional education (CPE). The exact required CPE or ethics credits are not publicly verified, so check current requirements with McAfee Institute. Lifetime training access should not be confused with lifetime certification: your course materials may remain available, but the credential itself requires renewal.
The credential is aimed at people doing or supporting investigations, intelligence, law enforcement, criminal justice, military, and comparable work involving digital-currency misuse and financial crime. Whether it pays off for your situation depends on your role and goals. Our ROI analysis, salary guide, and CDCI jobs overview go further, and none of them should be read as a guarantee of earnings or placement.
Frequently Asked Questions
McAfee Institute publishes a final-exam passing threshold of at least 70% for the Certified Digital Currency Investigator exam. The exact number of questions behind that percentage is not publicly verified, so you cannot convert it into a fixed count of correct answers.
The exact CDCI question count is not publicly verified, and the scored/unscored split is undisclosed. An institute-wide page mentions approximately 200, but that is not confirmed as the CDCI figure. The verified details are the three-hour time limit and the multiple-choice, true/false, and scenario-based format.
No official weighted blueprint has been verified. The nine public learning objectives, from Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Fundamentals through Applying AML Techniques to Digital Currencies, are unweighted preparation categories. You cannot identify a highest-weighted domain, so study all nine.
Each exam license allows one attempt and is usable for one year. Another attempt is priced at USD 450. Confirm current retake terms with McAfee Institute before purchasing, since policy details can change.
No. The training purchase is not mandatory for the exam-only route, which costs USD 450. The optional course is 50 hours across 19 modules and is available as a USD 2,997 training-and-exam package. See what CDCI certification is for the broader overview.
No. It is closed book, taken in one sitting, and remotely proctored. A valid ID, webcam, and microphone are required, with restrictions on extra monitors, VPNs, proxies, and virtual machines.